A bit of time in one place and a lot of Seals

Date: 2/4

Weather: well we have had it a bit mixed and lots of sea fog but it often burns off before too long and it has still been pretty warm.

Location: Oamaru

20170402120640.JPG
Just a chilled sort of week

Kia ora guys,

Sorry it’s been a while, I’ve got off the Stray bus for the moment and I’ve been taking it easy this week. Though don’t worry I’m still having adventures just based in one place at the moment.

Though we did go down to Dunedin earlier in the week, and to Larnach Castle, or more the garden’s of the not really a castle as they wanted a fortune to see inside. It was a beautiful, though really not a castle as it was built in the 1800s, more of a manor house I’d say. The gardens are spectacular though, with an amazing view over Dunedin. But it did have and Alice in Wonderland theme running though it and I have still no idea why.20170402120326.JPG

 

20170402120314

20170402120352.JPG
all suggestions welcome as to why

Dunedin itself seems nice too, not that we explored much, but the brewery was good. I even saw some Spoonbills (big white wading birds… look them up, they are cool) too, but unfortunately no picture as we were in the car.

But I’ve seen plenty of animals here in Oamaru, there are lots of Pied Shags, White-Fronted Terns and a lot of Fur Seals. Its brilliant, I’ve been going nearly every day to see the seal, they are the funniest things and we’ve been able to get so close to them without them caring. Though they could be confused as furry rocks sometimes, they are that well camouflaged. There is a Blue Penguin colony here too but I have yet to go and see them when they come in for the day.

20170402120536.JPG
Pied Shag

Oamaru is a nice place too, a good place to get off the road and chill, especially as nothing happens here after 9:30pm! Though the architecture is very different to other parts of New Zealand, and there are some parts that is feel like I’ve stumbled into the Black Country museum or Beamish. So I guess I can see how it is the birthplace of Steampunk, and no I haven’t been to the Head Quarters quite yet, but I’ll get there.

20170402120459.JPG
Yes, it was a bit of a misty sort of day.

The beaches around here are stunning too and almost always deserted. We went to see the boulders at Moeraki beach, which we almost couldn’t see because of the sea fog. They are a bit like large pebbles stuck in the sand but worth a visit to say I’ve been I guess, and to give them thier due they are a few million years old. Though they do have three Alpacas there so I was quite happy, animals are more interesting to photograph than rocks.

20170402120421.JPG

20170402120413.JPG

I’ve been job hunting too this week, but not with any success so far, but I’m giving it to the 20th and then I’ll go and pick the bus up again at Christchurch amd head to Wellington to work. Fingers crossed for me.

Talk to you soon,

Izzie

20170402120514.JPG


Leave a comment